Forum - Info Center - Eltima Software

Eltima Help Center => Virtual Serial Port Driver & Virtual Serial Port ActiveX => Topic started by: WA3CAS on January 30, 2019, 09:47:13 PM

Title: Ham Radio Control Using Two Separate Applications
Post by: WA3CAS on January 30, 2019, 09:47:13 PM
I have a ham radio connected to a computer via COM4. Under this arrangement, I can control the radio (frequency, band, mode, etc.) using a single control application configured for COM4. But I want to control the radio using two separate applications at the same time.

I set up Virtual Serial Driver Pro to split COM4 between virtual COM ports 10 and 11 with one of the two applications set up for COM10 and the other for COM11. I thought this would work, but it doesn't.

Note that the application connected to the port that I set up for "Set main" does indeed control the radio, but the other application does not, in fact, the other application has a hard time connecting, and after it does, it soon disconnects.

How can I get both applications to control the radio?
Title: Re: Ham Radio Control Using Two Separate Applications
Post by: Boris Hohlenko on February 05, 2019, 03:44:49 PM
Hello,

Thanks for the question. With Virtual Serial Port Driver PRO you can not only split the real COM port but also sharing a real COM port among several applications. Please follow this guide:

"https://www.eltima.com/wiki/user-guides/vspd-pro/sharing.html"

If the issue still persists please write your reply to "support@eltima.com" and we will be glad to assist you further.

---

Best regards,
Borys Khokhlenko | Eltima Customer Support | http://www.eltima.com
Title: Re: Ham Radio Control Using Two Separate Applications
Post by: WA3CAS on February 07, 2019, 09:48:45 PM
I'll leave my reply here and hope you find it.

Nope, it still doesn't work. Time to move on and find something that does.

Title: Re: Ham Radio Control Using Two Separate Applications
Post by: Boris Hohlenko on February 12, 2019, 03:40:36 PM
Hi,

Thank you for your reply. I regret to hear that you are still having issues. If you wish to troubleshoot it please reach us at "support@eltima.com" and we will be glad to assist you.

---
Best regards,
 
Borys Khokhlenko | Eltima Customer Support | http://www.eltima.com