Forum - Info Center - Eltima Software

Eltima Help Center => Application as service => Topic started by: DebbieKat on November 27, 2008, 12:35:14 AM

Title: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: DebbieKat on November 27, 2008, 12:35:14 AM
I set up a new app as a windows service. The services say that it is running, but running my client application it says it isn't communicating with the server app:

java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.protocol.DefaultProtocolSocketFactory.createSocket(DefaultProtocolSocketFactory.java:79)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.protocol.DefaultProtocolSocketFactory.createSocket(DefaultProtocolSocketFactory.java:121)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.HttpConnection.open(HttpConnection.java:706)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.HttpMethodDirector.executeWithRetry(HttpMethodDirector.java:386)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.HttpMethodDirector.executeMethod(HttpMethodDirector.java:170)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.HttpClient.executeMethod(HttpClient.java:396)
   at org.apache.commons.httpclient.HttpClient.executeMethod(HttpClient.java:324)
   at org.pentaho.di.cluster.SlaveServer.execService(SlaveServer.java:483)
   at org.pentaho.di.cluster.SlaveServer.getStatus(SlaveServer.java:630)
   at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.SpoonSlave.refreshView(SpoonSlave.java:499)
   at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.SpoonSlave.refreshViewAndLog(SpoonSlave.java:268)
   at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.SpoonSlave$6$1.run(SpoonSlave.java:247)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.RunnableLock.run(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Synchronizer.runAsyncMessages(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runAsyncMessages(Unknown Source)
   at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Unknown Source)
   at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.Spoon.readAndDispatch(Spoon.java:1008)
   at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.Spoon.start(Spoon.java:6110)
   at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.Spoon.main(Spoon.java:426)
   at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)

Title: Re: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: DebbieKat on November 27, 2008, 12:52:15 AM
I think I'm on to part of the reason... It seems to be choking on referencing the Program Files directory due to the spaces. How do we get it to recognize the full directory path without having to move the program to a directory name with no spaces in it?
Title: Re: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: Tina on November 27, 2008, 03:40:38 PM
Hello,

Please, try to do the following:

Please launch Application as Service ->  select your service in the Service list and click "Edit" button on Toolbar - > Program tab -> Working directory -> specify "Program files" folder.

We would also recommend you to use "%Programfiles%\1.txt" instead of "C:\Program files\1.txt"

Please note, it is necessary to use quotation marks, when you set the path to file.
Title: Re: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: DebbieKat on December 01, 2008, 06:01:12 PM
This still isn't connecting properly from my remote client. The service initially indicates "running" and then it stops within 30 seconds.
Title: Re: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: DebbieKat on December 01, 2008, 06:36:24 PM
According to support for the app I'm trying to convert to a service, they were only able to successfully run this application when it didn't reside in the Program Files directory and was placed in a directory without spaces.  :( Is this a known issue? And will the ability to include spaces in a directory name be in a newer release?
Title: Re: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: DebbieKat on December 01, 2008, 06:55:12 PM
Just posting to confirm that moving my application out of the Program Files directory seems to resolve this issue. Not the ideal situation, however.
Title: Re: Service shows as running, but application isn't communicating as expected
Post by: Tina on December 02, 2008, 01:57:30 PM
We are more than eager to investigate the problem and fix the bug if there is any. I regret to say that our testers are not able to reproduce the problem you described. Could you, please, send us your application for test to support@eltima.com